Assessment of Oxidative Stress in Recipients of Chronic Transfusion Therapy

Jayanta De, Kaushik Bhowmick, Utpal Chowdhury, Gopaldev Chattopadhyay, Indranil Chakraborty


Background: Excess iron deposition in chronically transfused patients may cause organ damage through generation of free radicals and resultant oxidative stress. The objective of study was to assess the oxidative stress in recipients of chronic transfusion therapy. Material and Methods: This cross-sectional study was undertaken in Department of Biochemistry, Medical College & Hospital, Kolkata, India in collaboration with Institute of Hematology & Transfusion Medicine of the same institute from May, 2007 to April, 2008. Serum Malondialdehyde, Vitamin E, erythrocyte reduced glutathione, osmotic fragility of red blood cells and serum ferritin were measured. Results: Serum malondialdehyde concentration in cases 7.87+1.44nmol/ml was significantly higher than that of controls 5.00+1.27nmol/ml (p<0.05). A significantly higher osmotic fragility in cases 4.57+0.44 g/l NaCl as compared to that of controls 4.37+ 0.46g/l NaCl was also noted (p<0.05). However, vitamin E concentration was not significantly different between these two groups in cases 10.05+2.20 mg/l as compared to controls 13.04+1.94 mg/l (p >0.05). Similarly, no significant difference was observed in erythrocyte reduced glutathione concentration in cases 3.94+1.20μmol/gHb compared to 5.80+1.08μmol/gHb in controls. The cases demonstrated significantly higher (p<0.05) serum ferritin concentration (197.98+61.65ng/ml) as compared to controls (24.51+38.47ng/ml). Conclusion: There was increased oxidative stress in cases receiving chronic transfusion therapy as signified by markers of oxidative damage, the increase in serum ferritin concentration might not have been sufficient enough to produce a concomitant decrease in serum vitamin E and reduced glutathione concentration, probably reflecting a transitory phase of ongoing cellular oxidative damage.

Full Text:



  • There are currently no refbacks.

Copyright (c) 2020 Jayanta De, Kaushik Bhowmick, Utpal Chowdhury, Gopaldev Chattopadhyay, Indranil Chakraborty

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.